Grumpelstiltskin Goes To The Museum

19 Jan

Chicago winter is insane.  When it’s like this, I wish for L.A.  Then I go inside.

Tonight, inside was the Museum of Contemporary Art on Chicago and Mies Van Der Rohe Way with lovely Megan, jewelry designer and visual artist in her own right.  I love the MCA.

The space itself is beautiful – high ceilings and long white walls – it feels like a forest in there (no trees, it just draws your eye up).  And the work is always interesting, even when it’s out there.

It’s hard to recount what I saw tonight exactly (mostly because we talked throughout the museum and by the end I was feeling really hungry) but I took some pictures.

This comic strip by Lilli Carre, part of the New Chicago Comics exhibition, is beautiful and clever.

I loved the works in Contested Territory, as well.  The colors are gorgeous (more vibrant than in these photos).

And, in Without You I Am Nothing: Interactions, Sara Schnadt was throwing metal nuts to approximate the experience of the stars.  I dug it.

There’s also a large, interactive exhibit about China showing through April (we admired the tiny knit sweatpants and moved on) and some other visually compelling installations I didn’t photograph.  The bookstore has an amazing collection of hardback books that are worth checking out, too.

So, winter is a nice time to see art.  And the MCA has some pretty great stuff right now and in upcoming months.  You should go.  If you are afraid of art, go to the MCA anyway and stare down at the fish pond from the top of the leaf-shaped staircase!

3 Responses to “Grumpelstiltskin Goes To The Museum”

  1. Fabianne January 19, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

    Oh my gosh I love the stars and the fish pond, and I don’t even really like visual art that much! (Yes, I admit it…)

  2. Alison January 19, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    I love the MCA! And I love that you called yourself Grumpelstiltskin!

  3. megan greene January 26, 2011 at 6:14 am #

    Great post! Clear bias of course :). Going to make the soup from the previous post tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

