I Heart – Things In K&S’s Home Edition

17 Feb

After an insanely long day yesterday, I made my way to Kim’s and Sunil’s in Venice Beach. In the morning, I meant to take photos of their entire amazing home but got caught up in the details instead.

The Hockney-inspired guest house is Abe’s and my home-away-from home in Los Angeles.  It is minimal and calm and I love the light in there.  Perfect morning room.  The baby room is the most original I’ve seen – I adore it.  The Blick alphabet decal in black with the green and  yellow hanging Chinese lanterns are so cute in a totally unexpected way.    This glass top and metal coffee table is Sunil’s recurring project – he changes out the display often and it’s always clever and interesting.  This time, tickets to the hundreds of shows he’s seen in recent years were on display.  I’ve seen black and white photos in there, bottle caps (though I think I may have just made that up) and colorful science magazines.  This table is in the middle of the living room and much dialogue centers around it.  No coffee table book required.    Speaking of books, check out this fantastic bookcase.  It was designed for this beach house specifically, and spans the entire length of the wall in the living room.  Incidentally, the books make perfect wall art. Finally, the house is adorned with Kim’s orchids – beautiful like she is.I love love being in this amazing space.

And Waves will give you a little wink on your way out. 

3 Responses to “I Heart – Things In K&S’s Home Edition”

  1. kim February 17, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    We miss you already!!!!
    Beautiful pictures, as always:)))

  2. abe February 18, 2011 at 12:15 am #

    Ha. Waves made me laugh out loud. Or, rather, lol.

  3. Sunil Bhuta February 18, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    Flattered to make the headline on Professional Chicks. More so by your visit. P.S.: Thanks for leaving your husband at home.

Leave a Reply

