What The Other Kids At School Are Wearing – Day & Night Edition

27 Mar

What The Other Kids At School Are Wearing is a newly-recurring post (here and here) that has featured Monday through Friday (i.e., work week) looks by fashionable, professional chicks.  When I got Kate’s adorable (!) pictures, the nature of the post changed a little.   This is What The Other Kids At School Are Wearing – Day and Night Edition.

*          *          *

Who: Kate

What: Law student; Law Clerk; Author of The Ginger List

Style, in a word: Urban-Chic (or Military-Meets-Floral – !)

Style inspiration: I find inspiration in a variety of styles – I like everything from casual bohemian looks to preppy equestrian looks.  The majority of my wardrobe comes from Anthropologie and J.Crew, but I also spend lots of time browsing the boutiques of Wicker Park.  If I could dispel one “fashion myth,” it would be that girls who are larger than a size 2 should not wear skinny jeans – in my opinion, everyone should wear skinny jeans!

Monday (day): This is my running errands outfit.  The brown shoes are by Sam Edelman and I love everything about them, cute and functional.  The coat is from J. Crew last season.

Tuesday (night): I wore this when I went to dinner and a movie on a weeknight.  The dress was a gift.  The boots are amazingly comfortable and versatile, from Stuart Weitzman.

Wednesday (night): This is a perfect look for a dinner party at a friend’s house.  The dress is almost my skin color, so I love it with a bold contrast of deep purple.  The shoes are from Click on Southport, and they’re great deep purple t-straps.Thursday (night): I wore this out with some girlfriends on a Thursday night for cocktails.  The top is from Anthropologie (shocker) and the bag is from Ann Taylor (What?).

Friday (day): I’ve worn this to work on casual Fridays.  The sweater is almost jacket-like and extremely soft and comfortable.  I got it from Banana Republic a few years ago.  And the shoes are amazing – they are Vince Camuto from a few seasons ago.

Saturday (night): I wore this on my birthday – it’s currently my favorite outfit.  The dress is from Nanette Lepore and the shoes are from Niche on North Ave.

Editor’s Note: Kate’s style sense is impeccable (birthday dress and shoes – to die for!).  She is trend-aware but not trendy and makes every look her own.  She has a great sense of what looks work for her and plays off of those.  Kate’s free-spirit style is perfectly balanced with attention to detail (tights, accessories) – she is bohemian-put together.  (I love how Kate combines blacks, browns and blues for a perfect, chic look, too.)  Kate is the girl who is always the best dressed at the dinner party, bridal shower, girls’ night out, etc. – even when you tried!

*If you want to be featured in this series, send an email to professionalchicks@gmail.com with What the Other Kids at School Are Wearing in the subject line and I’ll send you instructions!

2 Responses to “What The Other Kids At School Are Wearing – Day & Night Edition”

  1. Fabianne March 27, 2011 at 11:42 pm #

    Wednesday is my fave! I love the dark tights! Good idea!

  2. Arianne March 28, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    I like Thursday…super cute! =)

Leave a Reply

