What The Other Kids At School Are Wearing – My Turn Edition

10 Apr

I didn’t have anyone for this post this week so I decided it could be my turn.

Who: Diz

What: Attorney; Professor

Where: Chicago

Style, in a word: I love bags!

Style inspiration: My style is inspired by my short time at Bard College, where my friends wore creative, beautiful and rare clothes – mostly thrift store finds – in easy, bohemian ways.  At the University of California San Diego, Theater/Dance was my minor and I spent a lot of my time in the dance studios.  All of my wrapped, layered, soft dance clothes made their way into my daily wardrobe and stayed long after I was done dancing.  (As an aside, I finally watched Black Swan this week and the costumes (not the performance costumes but the amazing knits, opaque sleeves, flowy skirts and ballet flats) are absolutely my dream clothes.  The rest of the movie was kind of my nightmare (I mean, I liked it but it was traumatizing), but anyway.)  I am also a Vogue junkie, love Fashion Gone Rogue and similar sites and Tim Gunn is my favorite (TV) person (followed closely by Flavor Flav and Tim Riggins).  I guess Tim Gunn doesn’t care for leggings – but I do.  So we don’t get along about that.

Sunday:  This is a casual Sunday brunch and running errands outfit.  My sister gave me these American Eagle camo shorts for Christmas last year and I live in them winter (with leggings) and summer.  I love them.  I am always looking for the perfect t-shirt and have accumulated a huge collection of them.  This grey v-neck t-shirt from Target is among my favorites.  The sweater is from H&M (I basically carry it around in my bag at all times because it’s cute with everything and I get cold a lot).  The wedges are Steve Madden from two years ago and I have worn them to death.  I love accessories but am pretty dedicated to my accessories of the moment – at any given time, I am wearing something by Megan Greene (wearing her earrings here), my Bahgsu Jewels two-toned leaf necklace, my wedding rings, a ring Abe bought me when my wedding ring was being sized and a pearl ring that was my grandmother’s.   Monday:  Now that I work from home, I can have fun with weekday clothes again.  Business attire and I don’t get along very well.  This shirt dress is by CF – I bought it at my mother in law’s clothing store, Laurel Creek, in Missoula, Montana.  I’m not sure if it’s a shirt or a dress but anyway, it’s cute with leggings and these Vince Camuto riding boots.  The belt is from Akira and the feather hair accessory is by my sister-in-law Hannah.  Tuesday: This is work-from-home-lunch-with-a-friend attire.  I love these bejeweled shoes!  They are also Steve Madden, though they don’t look like it.  The comfy, pastel dress is another piece from my mother in law’s store, and the cardigan is Nordstrom brand.  I own one in every color.  They fit well and I like the three-quarter sleeves.  The headband is from Anthropologie and was a Christmas gift from my then-secretary.  She and I have completely different styles but she is great at choosing things that I love to wear.  This headband is one of my favorite accessories of the moment.     Wednesday: This is a good low key dinner and a movie outfit.  The floral top is from Asos, where tons of my clothes have come from since they started selling in the US this past year.  I heart Asos!  I agree with Kate that skinny jeans are cute for everyone but I am still in love with trouser style and wide leg jeans.  These are Seven for All Mankind in light grey.  Definitely my go-to jeans.  In a crises, wear these, a black t-shirt and some fun accessories and things will be fine.  Bag is Rebecca Minkoff – the original Morning After.  I used this bag when I had a trial in Los Angeles a couple of years ago and have used it for overnight trips and for day time – it’s all purpose (though kind of heavy).Thursday:  My friend Linda has impeccable style and taste and I pretty much buy anything she tells me to.  She found this dress for me and I wear it all the time.  It’s the perfect day-to-night dress and it’s completely easy.  The boots are Frye – love them, obviously.  The bag is Latico.  It has lots of sneaky pockets, which I like.  Most of my bags are the size of a baby elefante, so it’s nice to carry around just the essentials in this little munchkin. Friday:  My sister got me into wearing scarves in this retro way.  I think it’s super cute, especially paired with pearl earrings or some other retro jewelry.  The dress is Rachel Pally – I love the bell sleeves, the soft jersey material and the empire waist.  (Speaking of traumatic events, when I was wedding dress shopping I learned the pronunciation is “ahm-pier.”  I’m so sure.)  The bag is 3.1 Philip Lim from this season and I am obsessed with it.  Shoes were the best purchase!  I love them.  They are Boutique 9 – no idea, can’t remember where I got them – they were super inexpensive, though.Saturday:  I wear a lot of black.  Especially when I go out.  A few months ago my sister-in-law sent me this amazing, all purpose black dress and I have worn it for everything from a funeral (really sad) to my going away party at work.  Tights are my number one fashion enemy but these tights are perfect.  They are Max Mara and are so incredibly comfortable.  They have light yellow flower imprints on them, which is super cute.  Black suede boots are Tory Burch from a few seasons ago.  I wear them all the time.  Bag is Balenciaga – one of my favorite things I have ever owned.  Awesome earrings by my sister-in-law Briana. I have a feeling my sisters are going to tell me I look crazy in these pictures . . . .

Check out the other kids at school, here and here and here and here.

*If you want to be featured in What The Other Kids At School Are Wearing, email me at professionalchicks@gmail.com!

7 Responses to “What The Other Kids At School Are Wearing – My Turn Edition”

  1. Fabianne April 11, 2011 at 2:13 am #

    I don’t think you look crazy! I like all the outfits! My faves are the tights on Saturday, the dress on Tuesday, and the whole Sunday ensemble (which is pronounced on-sahm-bel).

  2. Heba April 11, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    You look fantastic! My faves? Hard to even say b/c I love it all. But top three:

    1. Desiree’s commentary on black swan

    2. Any, all, every single bag…I love bags that fit small elephants! And I love small elephants so it all works out!!

    3. Tights FOR SURE! I hate tights but those are hot!

  3. Alison April 11, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    Cracking up at your comment on the pronunciation of empire you learned while wedding dress shopping! I also love to tote around baby elephants.

  4. Linda April 11, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    You look great in everything you wear! I especially love the black outfit, my favorite non-color!!

    And, of course, what girl can resist a baby elephant bag!

  5. Diz April 11, 2011 at 11:11 pm #

    @Fabi – Thanks, sister!
    @Heba re Black Swan – Someone had to say it. And thank you for liking my outfits!
    @Alison – I nearly went into a state of shock thinking about the wedding dress situation!
    @ Linda – You are next! Send me pictures of your outfits, please!

  6. Kelly April 11, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

    Love the stripes with those boots so very much. Love the black outfit, very Rome, and detail of the black tights. Trying to come up with outfits to be a part of this blog makes me realize why my sister once wanted to sign me up for “what not to wear”. I will have to copy you Diz!

  7. Briana April 26, 2011 at 11:41 pm #

    You are so gorgeous in everything you wear! I love it. I am taking style tips and going to use them to revamp my (already owned) wardrobe. I just made a pack to not buy any shoes or clothes for a year, so we’ll have to do the clothes trade again! Yikes.

Leave a Reply

