Make Your Own Massage – Or Just Get One

29 Apr

I don’t understand people who don’t like massages.  They must be a little ill and just don’t know it yet.  I am obsessed.  If I could get a massage every morning, I would.  Abe says “no way.”  Bummer.  Instead, I just use a rolling pin.  If you lie down on it (on carpet) and roll it into your back, it is nearly as good.     If you are up for a real massage, here are some my favorite places to get massages:

Chicago: Urban Oasis

Highlights: Quiet, minimalistic space in the middle of a super busy street in the Gold Coast.  Amazing massage therapists.  The best products (used during massages, in the bathrooms and to buy when you are checking out).  Perfect name – it really is.

Los Angeles: Burke WilliamsHighlights: I love Santa Monica.  The interior of BW is a beautiful space and the spa runs well.  Very professional.  The bathrooms are really nice, too, with lots of fancy accessories.  And I like this smiley guy in the photo I borrowed from their website.

Portland: The Dragontree SpaHighlights: Soothing, warm tones in the decor.  Holistic (that is, whole person) treatment choices – from paraffin hand dips to foot baths to head massages – all before your massage begins!  I love that they serve tea on big comfy couches while you are waiting for your massage, too.

San Diego: Rancho Valencia Resort & SpaHighlights: The resort itself is incredible.  It is worth spending a night here – you will feel very special.  The massages begin in these dark-ish, quiet rooms.  When the massage is over, one wall of the room has been raised and you are looking out into a sunny garden.  Amazing.

2 Responses to “Make Your Own Massage – Or Just Get One”

  1. Fabianne April 29, 2011 at 1:57 am #

    I’m too ticklish…

    • Arianne April 30, 2011 at 12:03 am #

      How did I know you were going to say that, Fabi? LOL!
      Sounds wonderful. Headed to SD this weekend…I may need to make a stop at Rancho Valencia Resort and Spa 🙂 🙂 Although Mr. Smiley looks very welcoming =) And, anything holistic is super tempting…

Leave a Reply

