Homemade Facial – Things That Require Zero Effort Edition

18 May

I horde fashion magazines.  I adore them.  I typically skip over the beauty sections, however – yawn.  But, for some reason I skimmed over the beauty section in this month’s In Style and came across the best thing ever.

First, as a little background story, some months ago I had an appointment for a massage and the spa was running behind.  While I was waiting they offered a free microdermabrasion, which I thought might have something to do with plump lip syndrome.  No thanks.  But actually, it’s just a facial/exfoliating thing with a toothbrush-like machine and it makes your skin nice and smooth.  The downside is it’s done with tiny crystals of some kind and the entire time these sand-like flecks were flinging in my mouth.  Gross.  It can also be fairly expensive – $75 – $200 for a 10 minute event.

OK so, this is what I learned in In Style: a baking soda and water combination creates a similar, abrasive quality and exfoliates your skin in the same manner as a microdermabrasion.  Since it requires nearly zero effort to try this, I decided to.  And it was great.

In a bowl, mix one part baking soda to two parts water.  I did 2 tablespoons of baking soda and four tablespoons of water and then adjusted it a little so the baking soda had enough room to settle at the bottom. 

The water is meant to turn the baking soda into a paste-like substance so you can scrub your face with it.Scrub, rinse and repeat.  After, your skin really does feel smooth – a lot like a microdermabrasion, without the mouthful of sand.

3 Responses to “Homemade Facial – Things That Require Zero Effort Edition”

  1. Fabianne May 18, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    I want to see a pic of it on your face!

  2. Fabianne May 18, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    I want to see it on your face!

  3. John May 18, 2011 at 11:57 pm #

    Sometimes I feel my face is fading. Not sure if I want to scrape it off some more.

Leave a Reply

