Gojee

16 Jul

Someone posted this link on Facebook with an excited endorsement, so I thought I’d look.  Gojee is lovely – a beautiful food site.  Great for ideas, even if you love to cook on a whim or without recipes, as I do.  Among other things, it allows you to type in ingredients you have, ingredients you enjoy and ingredients you don’t care for (other sites and iPhone apps do this but not in such a fluid, pleasant way) and will offer recipes accordingly.

I happened to have fresh corn on the cob so I typed that in and it turned up this recipe for chilled corn soup with basil chili oil, which sounded good, so I made it.  (The fun thing was to say “I don’t like bacon,” which changed the proffered recipe into a tomato soup (similar ingredients, no bacon, but no corn either), then a tomato salad of some kind when I said “I don’t like garlic,” and this went on for a while.  I ultimately went back to the corn soup and adjusted it a little.  Overall, a very nice recipe.  (I should note, the recipes don’t appear to come from Gojee – rather, Gojee compiles the recipes?  Seems that way, anyway.  I should also note, I do like bacon.  I just try not to eat it.))

Some suggestions for the soup once you have looked at the recipe:

I learned the best trick for cutting corn off the cob – place a bowl upside down in a larger bowl.  Use the smaller bowl as a place to rest the corn and cut downwards.  Instead of flying everywhere, the kernels will fall into the larger bowl. When you are done, remove the smaller bowl and you have a nice, neat bowl of corn.  (In thinking about it, I recall that I learned this from Rachel Ray.)I love that the recipe uses the corn cobs for the stock. In place of bacon, I sauteed the onions in a teaspoon of olive oil.  When the onions were translucent, I added raw, blanched almonds, which I toasted and salted along with the sauteed onions.  (Almonds are not, that I am aware of, a traditional bacon substitute, but the almonds gave the soup a nice bite and they were salty enough that the bacon-salt wasn’t missing.  Also, when I blended the soup, the almonds added a rich, creamy consistency.  Highly recommend it if you are on a bacon hiatus.)Rather than blanching the basil in its own pot of boiling water, I added it to the boiling corn kernels. As much as it is a pain, you should shock the basil in ice water and dry it well, as the recipe says to.  Makes a difference in the consistency of the basil chili oil.

Finally, instead of using an upright blender, I used a handheld immersion blender for the soup.I decided to serve the soup warm (not hot), because I don’t care for chilled soup.  The basil chili oil adds something special.Perfect summer soup.  Gojee is bookmarked.  L.

2 Responses to “Gojee”

  1. arianne1220 July 17, 2011 at 12:17 am #

    Was it delish? Funny, last night Nonna was trying to pressure me into eating soup for dinner. I told her it’s too hot here to even think about soup. Didn’t consider chilled/warm soup.
    I like the corn-cutting method.

  2. golddigge July 17, 2011 at 5:39 am #

    NICE.Good to know.

Leave a Reply

