El, This One Is For You

18 Jul

Everybody’s talking about Chick-Fil-A.  Until this evening, I had never even seen one.  I did hear, however, that they recently opened one around the corner from Loyola, on Chicago.

After a business meeting turned wine tasting this afternoon in the Loop, I started walking north.  And I found myself here: Which happens to be around the corner from here:Since Abe is out tonight for a business dinner and there is nothing in the house to eat, I sort of felt like eating at Chick-Fil-A was the only option.  Plus, I had some liquid courage (oh yeah, I definitely need liquid courage to try a fast-food place).  I have to say, it was everything it was promised to be and more.

The inside is super high tech and futuristic – it feels like Disneyland, in a way.I didn’t look at the menu, though I grabbed one.  Ellen (or maybe it was Ashely) told me to order the #1, which I gathered is the Chick-Fil-A specialty, anyway.  The #1 is a crispy chicken sandwich with pickles and cheese (you have to ask for the cheese).  It is otherwise plain; all condiments on the side, which I truly appreciate.  It comes with waffle fries and a drink.

I’m obsessed.  It’s insanely delicious.  While this is fast food, the quality is better than that.  It is a whole chicken breast (I typically cannot do chicken, but this was really good), breaded and lightly fried in peanut oil.  (I just added “lightly” to give it a little something extra – I’m not sure it is actually lightly fried.  It’s probably deep fried.  Oh well.)  The waffle fries are amazing, too.  This is a delicious little meal.  Let’s do it again sometime.Nutrition guide – um, no thanks.  I already ate it, anyway.After, I walked it off along the Magnificent Mile.  (“Mile after magnificent mile” is the new slogan for Illinois.  So true.  Always something beautiful to see.)   Bye.

6 Responses to “El, This One Is For You”

  1. Lynsey July 18, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    I’m so glad you finally got to experience Chick-fil-A! Yum!

  2. arianne1220 July 19, 2011 at 3:00 am #

    That looks so good! Katie and Sean have been trying to get me to try Chick-fil-A, but the one time we tried to go, it was closed!
    Now I’m determined! Especially since they lightly fry their chicken…sounds healthy! Haha.

  3. heba July 19, 2011 at 8:12 am #

    Um like 15 years ago this was the nastiest chain EVER!!!! But it seems that people are loving it now so you have me intrigued!!!

  4. Cindy July 19, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    As a side note, they close on Sundays because they are owned by religious people. I agree, it doesn’t taste like fast food usually does 🙂 It’s much better!

  5. Ellen July 26, 2011 at 8:27 am #

    So glad you got to try it! The #1 w/cheese is my all time favorite and now I am drooling … good thing they sell mini chicken biscuits for breakfast 🙂 I’m kidding. I will not be eating lightly fried mini chicken sandwiches for breakfast .. but only because I have court this morning.

    • Diz July 26, 2011 at 6:40 pm #

      Of course I perked up when you said breakfast sandwiches, felt disappointed when you rejected the idea and then died laughing when you said why. Love it.

Leave a Reply

