I heart…college

20 Aug

Guest Blogger Geist is at the keys and I’m taking you down memory lane for this post.

I work in Student Activities at a university, so I go through the cycle of the year much like I have for most of my life. Most people have no trouble considering that the year starts on January 1. For me, it actually starts sometime in mid-August. It’s always different and it’s always the same, much like most of our days now that we’re adults in the real world. It’s hard to tell if it’s Tuesday or Wednesday, because we don’t have a class schedule to remind us what day it is. Every year passes faster than the one before and surprises me each time, although I think I could prepare myself for that by now.

This weekend is Freshman Orientation; tonight’s big event will host all 2,000 new students. They will experience anything from a the euphoria (or panic) of a whole new social scene to a new crush to guilt about a hometown honey they left behind to homesickness to awkward social interactions. That’s freshman year for you, I suppose.

While it’s interesting and perhaps unfairly entertaining to watch from the sidelines, it does bring me back to my freshman orientation experience and some great memories from the rest of college. I went to a small, private school in Florida, about 3 hours from where I grew up. I remember meeting so many great people, including a beautiful and stylish girl (who would soon become a sorority sister of mine), who said she was from Venice…her tan and toe rings and confidence made me think she meant Italy; she actually meant Venice, Florida, just 4 hours away. Oops. I wore a necktie to class one day. I went to a bar where the bouncer said, “just show me ANY ID” and I showed him my actual ID, showing that I was 18 years old. He rolled his eyes and waved me in. I went out dancing with friends and drove them home (I didn’t have a car and I wasn’t drinking). Senior year, we took someone out for a birthday celebration and he got so drunk he requested to listen to Delilah on the late night radio and he sang Journey’s Open Arms the whole way home. I won the turkey shoot  intramural competition. My best friend and I got to be really good pool players senior year.

I got to reinvent myself and become more outgoing. I watched others whose style and mannerisms and accomplishments I admired, hoping to be somewhat changed myself. And I was. And I guess I am every day still.

These are the kinds of things that make people think college is the best years of your life. I now have the privilege of being able to walk with students year in and year out as they make some of these kinds of memories (though they probably have actual fake IDs that make them over 21).

It’s great to look back and have those fond memories. I hope some of you will call up an old roommate or friend or someone you only see intermittently on some social media site and share some laughs about the old days.

Now, I’m off to the big, sweaty mess that is tonight’s freshman orientation event. Wish me luck!

–Geist

3 Responses to “I heart…college”

  1. abe August 21, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    There is a time and place for everything. It’s called college. Nice post, Geist!

  2. Mel August 21, 2011 at 11:08 am #

    love my Geistie… good times!!!!

  3. arianne1220 August 21, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    Hope orientation went well! Sounds entertaining!

Leave a Reply

