New York City

11 Sep

Flying into New York City today, September 11, 2011.  Ten years to the day.  Listening to “The Rising” on my iPod.  Bruce Springsteen’s gorgeous 9/11 tribute album.  In 2001, I had flown home (San Diego, at the time) from New York just weeks before September 11.  That morning, early, Shannon called me.  She was worried I was still in New York.  Had I heard the news.  I hadn’t.  Her phone call got me out of bed.  I watched television for the remainder of that day and the days to come, as most people did.

Ali was living in New York at the time.  She walked from lower Manhattan to Ralph’s apartment in mid-town and it took her hours (Ali and I talked about this last night.  She said Ralph walked to her.  I remember it the other way around.).  There were so many people just walking.

Josh told me that lawyers were more civil to one another for a time after 9/11.

We had dinner with friends of Ali’s the other night.  They were bankers in New York at the time.  “2000 was a great year to be in New York,” he said.  “Everyone was making money.  The bars and restaurants were bustling.  9/11 changed everything.”

We talked about how this generation (and generations after) will learn about September 11 in school.  Like Pearl Harbor, and World War II, and others.  And our roll will be to tell stories about where we were and what life was like after, the way older generations do about Kennedy’s assassination.

It feels so nice to be in New York tonight.  At Ground Zero, there are stunning, beaming lights. 

4 Responses to “New York City”

  1. mao September 12, 2011 at 1:21 am #

    That was so beautiful Des!

    I remember you were home and I was so glad to have company that morning!

    I do hope that this terrible tragedy will never be forgotten.

    • Diz September 12, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

      Thanks, Mao!

  2. Cindy September 12, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    Thanks for this post Des. I was just in high school at that time but I remember it like it was just yesterday. As a teacher, I don’t know how I would be able to teach kids about this tragedy in American history. As I was explaining this to my 8-year-old sister yesterday, I felt the tears in my eyes and the difficulty in talking about it with her – someone so young and innocent and unaware of the hate that goes on this world. Someday I’ll learn.

    • Diz September 12, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

      I agree – it’s so easy to generate the feelings (and the tears!) of that day. And I’m sure you will teach it in meaningful and beautiful ways when the time comes.

Leave a Reply

