GTA

22 Sep

GTA (Gjelina Take Away) opened up next door to Gjelina in Venice this past year.  It’s one of my favorite places to visit on Abbot Kinney (second to Intelligentsia, of course).  I like it better than Gjelina itself, where we spent a lovely but not-memorable-food-wise New Year’s Eve a couple of years ago.

I recently had the market vegetable sandwich at GTA and it was the perfect blend of satisfying and healing.  I have been thinking about it ever since.  Tonight, after a long, unpleasant day, it seems this sandwich might repair things.  The veggies are improvised – but are close to the real thing.  It’s hearty but in a good way.  Pair it with figs, salty olives, and prosciutto for a light – but lovely – dinner.

Shaved Fennel, Manchego & Avocado on Whole Wheat

Ingredients:

1 fennel bulb, sliced or shaved thinly (shaved is better, but I don’t have a mandolin so I had to slice by hand)3-4 radishes, sliced or shaved thinly

1 heirloom tomato, sliced

2 cups of raw baby spinach

1 avocado, sliced (3-4 slices per sandwich)

Manchego cheese, sliced (2-3 slices per sandwich)

4-8 slices of whole wheat or multigrain bread (for 2-4 sandwiches)Good quality olive oil and vinegar (I used tarragon olive oil and grapefruit balsamic vinegar)

Salt & pepper, to taste

Directions:

Place sliced fennel, radishes, and spinach in a bowl. Dress generously with oil and vinegar and salt and pepper.  Toss.

Compile all ingredients, including the dressed vegetables, on the bread in any manner you would like. Eat.Feel better.

2 Responses to “GTA”

  1. Kim September 23, 2011 at 1:11 am #

    Now I want to try the sandwich!!! Why such a bad day:(?

    • Diz September 23, 2011 at 10:31 am #

      Long day, I guess. But better after the sandwich and some rest!

Leave a comment