Sunday Post – Tasting Guilt Edition

15 Jan

Abe and I are alike in a lot of ways – and nothing alike in many others ways.  However, we are exactly alike in one detrimental way: when we go to Whole Foods or Trader Joe’s (anywhere they give out samples, really), we feel 100% obligated to buy any items that we’ve sampled.  As if the person handing out the samples cares.  It’s called tasting guilt.

Today we went to Whole Foods to get brunch items.  We walked by a woman giving samples of coconut spread on a cracker.  I made eye contact with her – big mistake – so then I felt like I had to taste what she was offering.  And buy it, of course.  Here’s the thing – she wasn’t even selling anything.  We had to go elsewhere to actually find the spread.  And for some reason we did.

Coconut spread is like butter (which I rarely use) only it’s made from coconut oil.  It’s dairy and soy free.  It’s not sweet (though I expected it to be).  It’s neutral, with a subtle coconut taste.  This is all fine and well.  Great, even.  But, in a place like Whole Foods where you already buy things you don’t need, the last thing we needed was a tub of coconut spread.  Still somehow, here we are.

2 Responses to “Sunday Post – Tasting Guilt Edition”

  1. Cindy January 15, 2012 at 10:32 pm #

    Hehe. This was a funny post. I feel the same way about smaller places (example: Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory) where it’s just me (the shopper) and sample provider (only other person in there). I have to buy something because they gave me a bite of something. 🙂

  2. Fabianne January 15, 2012 at 10:45 pm #

    Haha! I usually make up a lie like, “OK I’m going to shop around and then I’ll probably be picking this up!”

Leave a Reply

