Out With A Bang – Or Just To Whole Foods

20 Jan

So . . . this is supposed to be the very last post ever here at Professional Chicks!  When I started this blog last January, my intention was to post once a day for a year – or 365 posts.  As of today, for the most part, I accomplished this (with some missed days and with the help of some wonderful guest bloggers).  I absolutely loved keeping this blog.  It has become one of my favorite things to do – and it truly is a complete diversion from my every day, as it was designed to be.  I hope it was for you, as well.

I’ll give you some stats, and my favorite posts, and then tell you what I have resolved about how to keep this blog alive.

We had a total of 32,264 views on the blog!  444 views on our busiest day.  This is not a high comment blog as compared with our daily stats, but still, we have 747 total comments.

My top five favorite posts from the year include (wow this is kind of hard – deep breath): this post on how to make a t-shirt scarf (and I recently found my post floating around on Pinterest!); these posts for homemade lasagna I and II; this post about Alinea; this post about flying out of Great Falls, Montana (mostly because it was Fabi’s favorite post); and this post about the one and only Jeff Buckley.  Please please share your favorite posts of the last year in the comments below.  Even if you have never weighed in on this blog before, please feel free to chime in – it would mean so much to me to hear from you.

OK – finally, after talking this out with some of you, and due to having a number of new subscribers in the last few months, I have decided to continue posting, only now the posts will come once a week.  I will post once a week for 52 weeks, beginning next week.

I hope this is a decent compromise and that you continue to read and comment and hang out with me weekly!  Thanks so much for all of your support in the last year.  See you next week!  And, in the meantime, I’m headed out into this storm for Whole Foods – my favorite Friday hangoutxoxo,

Diz

18 Responses to “Out With A Bang – Or Just To Whole Foods”

  1. Colleen January 20, 2012 at 6:29 pm #

    I will miss the daily stories, but congratulations on a terrific year of posts and I look forward to following weekly…ps. favorite post…tied bw oversized ND tshirt turned dress and I loved Fabi (singing) and Abe playing together…maybe Fabi should take the 365 post challenge too 🙂

    • Diz January 20, 2012 at 6:41 pm #

      Between her traveling and singing, I think Fabi would create an amazing blog. And I LOVE the post of her singing with Abe, too. So sweet! Thanks for following along, Coll!

  2. Mao January 20, 2012 at 6:34 pm #

    Tears…
    The Montana airport blog was one of my favorite too!

    • Diz January 20, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

      So funny – I didn’t think that post was going to be a popular one . . . turns out I was wrong! Thanks for reading, Mao!!!

  3. arianne1220 January 21, 2012 at 2:37 am #

    I’m so glad you’re keeping your blog, Diz. It’s so nice to take a break from my usual daily addiction (I think you know what it is), and read something entertaining, educational, and often-times enlightening. I’ve enjoyed so many of your blogs. It’s really hard for me to pick a favorite! Can I name a few? My three favorite food blogs were the home-made gnocchi, asparagus soup with grilled cheese, and the 4-part blog about the grilled cheese sandwich competition in Montana. The pictures turned out so well that I could almost taste the food! I also liked the soda stream blog (because I had never heard of it, and I thought it was awesome) and the bed-time story blog dedicated to me 🙂
    Thanks for all the time and effort you put into this! I look forward to reading more blogs 🙂

    • Diz January 21, 2012 at 5:57 pm #

      Oh yeah – I know what addiction you are talking about. It starts with F and ends with book. Ha.

  4. gingerwmn January 21, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    Wow, I can’t believe a whole year has passed! I don’t know if I’ll be able to cope with PC only once a week, but I’ll do my best 😉 Congratulations on reaching your goal and developing a loyal following in the process! Hmm, my favorite posts… I did love the Alinea post as well as the homemade facial (since I now do that about once a week!), but I think my favorite one involved a picture of you and your sisters with your grandma when you shared a few of her authentic Italian recipes. Adorable. Congrats again, and excited to read the next year’s worth of posts!

    • Diz January 21, 2012 at 5:56 pm #

      Oh I loved that post about nonna and her recipes from Naples! Thanks for reminding me of that one!

  5. Molly January 22, 2012 at 12:13 am #

    Ok, so I feel like I have been led astray…or I just don’t pay enough attention. I didn’t know this was only a year thing!! Even though I will somehow find a way to cope with the loss of an everyday post, I’m super happy that you will still keep this up!! I’ve never really been in to blogging. Shane and I actually had a conversation about blogs (I actually think I was telling him about yours) and we both agreed that it takes a talented individual to maintain one and keep it interesting. You have definitely kept me interested. I have learned so much and have been highly entertained. Favorite posts? Well, t-shirt scarf for sure!! They’re spreading like wildfire out here!! Fabi and Abe, need I say more? And really any post that relates to food you have made. I’m still trying to get the drool off my screen. Nice work, D! I look forward to what your future year here at professionalchicks brings!!

    • Diz January 26, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

      I tried to break the news early and often. But once a week is a decent compromise, right?

  6. abe January 22, 2012 at 8:23 am #

    I liked all of the food posts because I got to actually eat all that stuff (both at the restaurants and at home) and it was all great. My favorite was the one about Tru, but that was also my favorite meal of the year. I also liked the one about when we played that party in LA because it was just really nice. And the one about missed high fives because I agree- they’re hilarious.

    • Diz January 26, 2012 at 3:57 pm #

      OMG the high fives! That is pretty hil.

  7. Cindy January 23, 2012 at 4:36 pm #

    I’m bummed to see I’m only going to get an email from you once a week but I understand you have a life ;). Thanks for all your other great posts! I hope the snow clears up when I head to Chicago in Feb. It looks cold! Brr.

    • Diz January 26, 2012 at 3:57 pm #

      Thanks for the PC love and hopefully the once a week fix will keep you going!!!

  8. Geist January 23, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

    I LOVE this blog and I will miss having daily doses…though mostly I would read up every few weeks to catch all I missed. I am glad we’ll still have this! My favorite posts are the ones that feel like I’m actually in a conversation, hearing you tell a story straight to me…which is to say ALL of them. And thanks for inviting me to guest blog. It was an honor! Love!

    • Diz January 26, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

      The new structure is perfect for your reading style, then! And thanks for your awesome guest blogs. I loved them!

  9. Torcat January 23, 2012 at 5:13 pm #

    Congrats on reaching your goal of 365 blog posts! I’ve really enjoyed them all. I think what I love best about your blog is the variety of things you have written about. Food, music, fashion, airports, scooters trips…..I loved sitting down at night after things are quiet, checking my email and having a surprise topic from PC. Looking forward to still having my weekly fix!

    • Diz January 26, 2012 at 3:59 pm #

      Thank you! I had the same nightly experience writing. So glad you enjoyed the posts. The weekly round ups will hopefully give you something to look forward to!

Leave a Reply

